Despicable

I am haunted by a Frigid and Despicable
apparition known as Darkness
It wants me back. It needs me back, and it’s doing everything
in its power to have me back.
It’s using a reflection of a girl I used to be,
trying to make me see that I need it.
because without it I have nothing
and truthfully there is some truth to that
and it smiles thinking
that it has me back,
but I’m not the same person I was before.

This Darkness has always been in me,
snatching me away from any happiness,
making it only a dream,
showing me my “real” reality-A Prison. His Prisoner-
Instead of rising above, I let it intimidate me-
became its most prized possession; I fed it endlessly.

So I am haunted by a reflection
trying to make me see
that without it
I am nothing
when really,
I. Am. Everything.

 

(c) Al’Nysa S. Goodwin

Leave a Reply

