June 27th

I never thought that I would say those words to someone again
and then you happened.
I never thought that I would feel alive again
and then you happened.
I never thought that I would truly find my Home
and then you happened.
I never thought that I would let someone hold me again,
without it feeling wrong, like it didn’t belong
and then you happened.
I never thought that I would smile so much that my cheeks would hurt
and all you’d have to do is look at me,
and then you happened.
I never thought that I would let myself trust in anyone or anything again
and it isn’t easy,
and then you happened.
I never thought that someone would have enough patience to deal with me,
and then you happened.
I never thought that someone would look at me and be in complete awe of me,
feeling honored to have me,
and then you happened.
I never thought that someone could love me the way that I needed, the way that I pleaded
and then you happened.
I never thought that I would truly find myself again,
that abundance of love I had back in my innocence;
a freedom one only wishes for again,
but then you would say,
‘It wasn’t I that happened, It was God that happened.’
I never thought that I would truly believe in God in blind faith,
but then,
HE.
Happened.
And it’s only The Beginning.

(c) Al’Nysa S. Goodwin

2 thoughts on “June 27th

Leave a Reply

